Tuesday,November 8, 20228 p.m.
Wednesday,November 9, 20228 p.m.
Thursday,November 10, 20228 p.m.
Friday,November 11, 20228 p.m.
Saturday,November 12, 20228 p.m.

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30 Saint-Just Avenue
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

See the map

Photos

Ronnie Burkett Theatre of Marionettes

Adult audiences, 16 years +

Single admission price: $30 

🎟️  Tickets for November 8

🎟️  Tickets for November 9

🎟️  Tickets for November 10

🎟️  Tickets for November 11

🎟️  Tickets for November 12

 

Show in English

Ronnie Burkett’s The Loony Bin is an intimate “adults only” salon-style hand puppet show featuring a crazy cast of characters in an improvised mashup of scenes, songs and silliness. Set in a tattered puppet booth, the evening introduces us to leading lady Vealma Abattoir, once famous as the cow who jumped over the moon. She is joined by a company of faded players, her mysterious staff, and beloved characters from past Burkett shows including the wistful fairy Schnitzel, has-been actress Esmé Massengill, and beloved prairie matron Mrs. Edna Rural. The Loony Bin is Ronnie Burkett with “no strings attached”.

 

Running time: 75 minutes

Technique: Hand puppets

Company

Ronnie Burkett has been captivated by puppetry since the age of seven, and began touring his shows around Alberta at the age of fourteen. Ronnie Burkett Theatre of Marionettes was formed in 1986, continuously playing on Canada’s major stages, and as a guest company on numerous tours abroad.

Ronnie received the 2009 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre, The Herbert Whittaker Drama Bench Award for Outstanding Contribution to Canadian Theatre, a Village Voice OBIE Award, and four Citations of Excellence from the American Center of the Union Internationale de la Marionnette. In 2019, Ronnie Burkett was appointed as an Officer of The Order of Canada.

The Loony Bin is Ronnie’s return to his first, touring hand puppet shows, when he was a teenager, created just for fun as a personal pandemic project.    

Credits

Puppets and Stage Design: Ronnie Burkett
Costumes: Kim Crossley
Studio Assistant: Alexander Mantia
Stage Construction: Christian Bellsmith
Stage Draperies: Sondra Richter
Special Thanks: Dina Meschkuleit, Andy Hayward, Joe Emory, Jeff Moss and Jesse Vail

mardi8 novembre 202220 h
mercredi9 novembre 202220 h
jeudi10 novembre 202220 h
vendredi11 novembre 202220 h
samedi12 novembre 202220 h

Maison internationale des arts de la marionnette
30, avenue St-Just
Montréal (Québec) H2V 1X8

Voir la carte

Photos

Ronnie Burkett Theatre of Marionettes (Toronto)

Spectacle pour adultes, 16 ans et plus

Tarif unique: 30 $ 

🎟️ Billets pour le 8 novembre

🎟️ Billets pour le 9 novembre

🎟️ Billets pour le 10 novembre

🎟️ Billets pour le 11 novembre

🎟️ Billets pour le 12 novembre

 

Spectacle en anglais

 

The Loony Bin de Ronnie Burkett est un spectacle intime de marionnettes à gaine, de style boudoir, réservé à un public adulte averti. Le spectacle met en scène un ensemble de personnages farfelus dans un pot-pourri improvisé de scènes, de chansons et de bouffonneries. Le tout se déroule dans un vieux castelet en lambeaux. Nous y découvrons le personnage principal, Vealma Abattoir, autrefois célèbre pour avoir été la vache qui a sauté par-dessus la lune dans la comptine anglaise Hey Diddle Diddle. Elle est entourée d’une troupe d’acteurs défraîchis, de son équipe énigmatique, et de personnages chéris des précédents spectacles de Burkett, dont la mélancolique fée Schnitzel, l’actrice has been Esmé Massengill, et la bien-aimée matrone des prairies, Mme Edna Rural. The Loony Bin, c’est Ronnie Burkett sans les fils, ni le contrôle!

 

Durée : 75 minutes

Techniques : marionnettes à gaine

Compagnie

Ronnie Burkett est fasciné par les marionnettes depuis l’âge de sept ans. À 14 ans, il commence à présenter des spectacles en tournée en Alberta. Fondée en 1986, sa compagnie, le Ronnie Burkett Theatre of Marionettes est invité sur les plus grandes scènes du Canada et lors de nombreuses tournées à travers le monde. 

Ronnie Burkett a remporté le prix Siminovitch en théâtre (2009), le prix Herbert Whittaker Drama Bench pour sa contribution exceptionnelle au théâtre canadien, un prix OBIE du Village Voice, et quatre Citations of Excellence in the Art of Puppetry décernées par l’Union internationale de la marionnette (UNIMA) USA. En 2019, Ronnie Burkett a été nommé officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

The Loony Bin marque le retour de l’artiste à ses premiers spectacles de marionnettes alors qu’il n’était qu’adolescent, cette nouvelle œuvre étant créée uniquement pour le plaisir, comme projet personnel dans le contexte pandémique.

Crédits

Marionnettes et scénographie : Ronnie Burkett
Costumes : Kim Crossley
Assistant de studio : Alexander Mantia
Construction de la scène : Christian Bellsmith
Draperies de scène : Sondra Richter
Remerciements spéciaux : Dina Meschkuleit, Andy Hayward, Joe Emory, Jeff Moss et Jesse Vail