Sunday,August 14, 201611 a.m.
Sunday,August 14, 20162 p.m.
Monday,August 15, 201610:30 a.m.

Parc Beaubien d’Outremont
Outremont (Québec)
See the map

Parc Toussaint-Louverture des Habitations Jeanne-Mance
100 rue Ontario Est
Montréal (Québec) H2X 1J6
See the map

Aakaar Puppet Theatre
www.aakaarpuppet.com/

For all audiences, without words

Free

Story line : Amar Singh Rathor is a folk epic that has survived the centuries, often told by the Bhat, the kathputli puppeteers of Rajasthan. The eponymous hero is a 17th century Rajput warrior from Nagour who served under a Mughal emperor, usually identified as either Akbar or Shah Jahan, the builder of the Taj Mahal. The performance is divided into many episodes in the saga.

Genre : Kathputli is a string puppet theatre, native to Rajasthan and is the most popular form of Indian puppetry. The art of Rajasthani puppetry (also called Kathputli) originated a thousand years ago when the Bhat community began to practice this art. Patronised by many ruling families in the state, it soon grew into a major art form of the region. Historically, these puppets were not only a source of entertainment, but also provided moral and social education. These puppet shows made people aware of the social problems that everybody was facing and also showed ways of solving them.

 

Technique: String Marionettes

Running time: 30 minutes

Sunday, August 14: Parc Beaubien d’Outremont (In case of rain, the show will take place in the Pavillon Saint-Viateur, 532, avenue Bloomfield Outremont H2V 3R9)

Monday, August 15: Parc Toussaint-Louverture, Habitations Jeanne-Mance

As part of the Amar Singh Rathor show : Screening of the documentary My Gypsy Colony by Martine Palmer and Stéphane Subiela (France) on Monday, August 15 at 5 p.m. at Centre Culturel Intergénérationnel d’Outremont. A poignant account of the last moments of magic Kathputli Colony. For more information

 

PHOTOS

Aakaar Puppet Theatre

THE COMPANY

Kathputli Theatre: The Kathputli puppetry tradition is over a thousand years old and is native to the Rajasthan region in India. Kathputli (or “dancing wood doll”) is the most popular form of Indian puppetry. The Bhat community developed the art form and passed it down from generation to generation. At first only performed for Rajasthani Kings and nobles, the form soon became the principal artistic discipline of the entire region. The puppets were not only a source of entertainment, but also provided moral and social education about various issues.

Aakaar Puppet Theatre

Aakaar Puppet Theatre was established in 1988 by Puran Bhat, in the Kathputli colony in New Delhi, where all the members of the company still live and work. At first a traditional Rajasthani string marionette company, Aakaar Puppet Theatre now also borrows from other, more contemporary techniques. The company develops and promotes traditional Indian Kathputli puppetry (string marionettes) in India and abroad, and works with many Indian and international artists: puppeteers, musicians, actors and dancers. A wide variety of puppets, masks and other performing objects are used to tell both traditional and folk tales, as well as new stories dealing with social and educational themes.

Puran Bhat

Puran Bhat is a master puppeteer born in Rajasthan in a family of the puppeteer caste and has practiced Kathputli puppetry since his early childhood. Now Director of the Aakaar Puppet Theater, he performs this authentic and traditional puppetry across India but also around the world. Puran Bhat is all at once a creator, a stage director and an open-minded puppeteer that has enriched the art of Kathputli. He also works with a number of Indian puppet theatre companies, including the Ishara Puppet Theater (Daddi Pudumjee). Artistic ambassador for this ancient art both in India and abroad, he teaches manipulation techniques for this specific string marionette and trains many artists. In 2003, Puran Bhat received the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for puppetry.

CREDITS

Puppets and Performance: Puran Bhat
Musicians : Akshay Bhat, Guddi Bhat, Pawan

Les dimanches et lundis de Casteliers are presented thanks to the support of the districts of Outremont and Ville-Marie.

PU-logo-new

dimanche14 août 201611 h
dimanche14 août 201614 h
lundi15 août 201610 h 30

Parc Beaubien d’Outremont
Outremont (Québec)
Voir la carte

Parc Toussaint-Louverture des Habitations Jeanne-Mance
100 rue Ontario Est
Montréal (Québec) H2X 1J6
Voir la carte

Aakaar Puppet Theatre (Inde)
www.aakaarpuppet.com/

Spectacle pour tous, sans paroles

Gratuit

Logo_DLCasteliers

Amar Singh Rathor est une épopée traditionnelle qui a traversé les siècles, racontée par les Bhat, marionnettistes Kathputli du Rajasthan. Cette saga rythmée et colorée, constituée de plusieurs épisodes, raconte l’histoire du héros éponyme du 17e siècle,  un guerrier rajah de Nagour, au service de l’empereur Mughal, souvent associé à Akbar ou Shah Jahan, bâtisseur du Taj Mahal.

Techniques : marionnettes à fils

Durée : 30 minutes

Dimanche : Parc Beaubien d’Outremont (En cas de pluie, le spectacle aura lieu au Pavillon Saint-Viateur – 532, avenue Bloomfield, Outremont H2V 3R9)

Lundi : Parc Toussaint-Louverture des Habitations Jeanne-Mance

Dans le cadre du spectacle Amar Singh Rathor:
Projection du documentaire My Gypsy Colony de Martine Palmer et Stéphane Subiela (France) le lundi 15 août  à 17 h au CCI d’Outremont. Un témoignage poignant sur la vie de centaines d’artistes, marionnettistes, magiciens, musiciens,  acrobates, jongleurs, charmeurs de serpents et dresseurs de singes au sein de la Kathputli Colony,  un village bidonville au cœur de New Dehli. Lire plus

PHOTOS

Aakaar Puppet Theatre

DESCRIPTION DE LA COMPAGNIE

Théâtre Kathputli : Originaire du Rajasthan il y a plus de mille ans, le Kathputli (qui signifie « poupée de bois dansante ») est la forme de marionnettes à fils la plus populaire en Inde. À l’origine un divertissement princier, développée par la communauté Bhat qui l’a transmise de génération en génération, la forme est bientôt devenue la principale discipline artistique de toute la région. On utilisait les marionnettes pour amuser, mais aussi pour instruire et éduquer la population sur différents enjeux sociaux.

Aakaar Puppet Theatre

Le théâtre de marionnette Aakaar a été créé  en 1988 par Puran Bhat, dans la Kathputli Colony de Delhi, où tous les autres membres de la troupe vivent travaillent aussi.  Aakaar Puppet Theater est à l’origine une compagnie de marionnettes traditionnelles du Rajasthan, mais elle utilise aussi d’autres techniques de manipulation, plus contemporaines. La compagnie développe et fait connaitre la marionnette traditionnelle indienne Kathputli (marionnette à fils) en lnde et à l’étranger, collaborant avec de nombreux artistes indiens et internationaux : marionnettistes, musiciens, comédiens et danseurs. La compagnie utilise marionnettes, masques et objets pour raconter des contes traditionnels et de nouvelles histoires traitant d’enjeux sociaux et éducatifs.

Puran Bhat

Directeur de Aakaar Puppet Theater, maitre-marionnettiste Kathputli, Puran Bhat est né au Rajasthan, au sein d’une caste de marionnettiste, et pratique la marionnette traditionnelle kathputli depuis son plus jeune âge. Il joue ses spectacles dans la plus pure tradition en Inde mais aussi à travers le monde. Créateur de spectacles, metteur en scène, marionnettiste à l’esprit ouvert, il a su enrichir son art de la kathputli. En parallèle, Il travaille avec plusieurs compagnies de marionnettes indiennes, notamment Ishara Puppet Theater (Daddi Pudumjee). Ambassadeur de son art en Inde et à l’étranger, il enseigne la construction et la manipulation de cette marionnette à fils et forme de nombreux artistes. En 2003, Puran Bhat a reçu le Sangeet Natak Akademi Award pour la marionnette.

 

CRÉDITS

Marionnettes et interprétation : Puran Bhat
Musiciens : Akshay Bhat, Guddi Bhat, Pawan

Les dimanches et lundis de Casteliers sont présentés grâce au soutien des arrondissements d’Outemont et de Ville-Marie.

PU-logo-new